Industry News
  • Mentor Graphics Announces 22nd Annual PCB Technology Leadership Awards Program Winners
  • Mentor Graphics

    Email a Friend

    Printer Friendly Version

    Latest News Releases

    WILSONVILLE, OR--(Marketwire - November 9, 2010) -  Continuing its tradition of promoting and recognizing printed circuit board (PCB) design excellence, Mentor Graphics Corporation (NASDAQ: MENT) today announced the winners of its 22nd annual PCB Technology Leadership Awards (TLA). Started in 1988, this program is the longest running competition of its kind in the electronic design automation (EDA) industry. It recognizes engineers and computer aided design (CAD) designers who use innovative methods and design tools to address today's complex PCB systems' design challenges and produce industry-leading products.

    "The entries for Mentor's 2010 TLA reflect an excellent 'cross-section' of the electronics industry, representing today's more advanced and complex electronic circuits," said Happy Holden, vice president and chief technical officer, Foxconn Advanced Technology Group. "This year was more difficult to judge and all entries employed very advanced technologies. The high-pin count FPGAs and ASICs were particularly abundant and some went to new miniaturizations with very fine-pitch devices of 0.5 mm pitch. It was encouraging that most designers are leveraging their Mentor Graphics tools to implement innovative approaches with advanced PCB technologies like HDI/microvias."

    Industry experts judged entries from around the world in five categories representing a wide variety of industries. The PCB industry expert judges included Happy Holden, vice president and chief technical officer, Foxconn Advanced Technology Group; Gary Ferrari, technical support director, FTG Circuits; Pete Waddell, president of UP Media, publisher of Printed Circuit Design & Fab/Circuits Assembly Magazine; Andy Kowalewski, senior interconnect designer, AdvantagePCB; and Rick Hartley, senior principal engineer, Avionics Division of L-3 Communications.

    2010 Technology Leadership Award Winners

    Category: Best Overall Design Company Name: GE Intelligent Platforms (UK) -- Using: Expedition® Enterprise Design Team: Paul Curran, Mike Tapp, Rob Savage, John Digby

    Category: Consumer Electronics and Handhelds Company Name: Seagate (USA) -- Using: Expedition Enterprise Design Team: Diane Williams, Dave Williamson, Mark Roberts

    Runner Up: Qualcomm Inc (USA) -- Using: Board Station® XE Design Team: Larry Paul, Bryan Selby, Jason Yeo, Yongsheng Peng, Christine Henry, David Bahnemann, Andres March, Yang Zhang

    Category: Industrial Control, Instrumentation, Security and Medical Company Name: JSC ELINS, (Russian Federation) -- Using: Expedition Enterprise Design Team: Dmitry Belyaev, Vladimir Sikoev, Evgeniya Tevs

    Runner Up: GE Intelligent Platforms (US) -- Expedition Enterprise Design Team: Harold Donaldson, Jack Henslee, Matt Ferguson

    Category: Military & Aerospace Company Name: General Dynamics (Canada) -- Using: Board Station XE Design Team: Rene Allard, George Claridge, Kevin Fitzgerald, Cristian Filip, Luc Bouchard

    Runner Up: Astrium (UK) -- Using: Expedition Enterprise Design Team: Mark Walker, Sean Manning, Bob Masterton, Stephen Williams, Jon Hill

    Category: Computers, Blade and Servers, Memory Systems Company Name: ZTE, (China) -- Using: Expedition Enterprise Design Team: Zhang Meijuan, Guo Yonggang, Peng Shuifei, Chen Huifeng

    Runner Up: Broadcom, (USA) -- Using: Expedition Enterprise Designer: Rich Pitta

    Category: Telecom, Network Controllers, Line Cards Company Name: Alcatel-Lucent (Italy) -- Using: Board Station XE Design Team: Lugi Aldeghi, Fabrizio Crippa, Massimiliano Severi, Giuseppe Sorbara, Lucia Marta, Ivan Malaspina, Luigi Brambilla

    Runners Up: SIENNA ECAD Technologies Pvt. Ltd. (India) -- Using: PADS® Design Team: Srinivas R, Savita Rajesh Alcatel-Lucent (Israel) -- Using: Expedition Enterprise Design Team: Elad Noach, Rafi Zalalihin, Tamir Hazan

    Category: Transportation & Automotive Company Name: Huizhou-Desay Automotive (China) -- Using: Expedition Enterprise Designer: Tan Baichuan

    Runner Up: Huizhou-Desay Automotive (China) -- Using: Expedition Enterprise Designer: Huaquan Li

    About Mentor Graphics Mentor Graphics Corporation (NASDAQ: MENT) is a world leader in electronic hardware and software design solutions, providing products, consulting services and award-winning support for the world's most successful electronics and semiconductor companies. Established in 1981, the company reported revenues over the last 12 months of about $800 million. Corporate headquarters are located at 8005 S.W. Boeckman Road, Wilsonville, Oregon 97070-7777. World Wide Web site:

    (Mentor Graphics, Board Station, PADS, and Expedition are registered trademarks of Mentor Graphics Corporation. All other company or product names are the registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective owners.)

    For more information, please contact: Larry Toda Mentor Graphics 503.685.1664 Suzanne Graham Mentor Graphics 503.685.7789